A Face to Call Home? and setlist from Chicago 8-9-13

Published August 11, 2013 by ChasingJohnMayer

Again we are raising the question about John Mayer’s song, A Face to Call Home. I write this entry considering my daughter who cannot wait to get her hands on the setlists as soon as they come out to find out about this song and when JM played it. At the start of the tour he gave that oh so romantic speech about Ms. Perry and how she was his face to call home. blah, blah, blah…

But really, if they’re happy, I’m happy for them. My teenage hormones are not sending me into a lunatic rage over who John Mayer might be dating.
Is he gorgeous, talented, and witty? Absolutely, more than any man should be! However, I know my roll in life and that is to appreciate, observe from afar, perhaps even borderline stalk while he’s on tour, but I realize that’s pretty much the end of it. Anyway, my JM fantasy would be to be friends and just chill. I think he would be a blast to party with and get to know on a personal level. Let’s get back to why I started this convo in the first place. At our first show in Cleveland he ended with Face to Call Home which he has done at most of his shows. The next night in Detroit he didn’t play the song at all. That was kind of a shocker. And as you’ll see below, he played it early on in the night in Chicago. This leaves us wondering if after his time off, before restarting the second part of the tour something happened of which we do not yet know?!?! Oh I’m sure all the young damsels are sitting around hoping that our sexy young troubadour is single once again, but girls that is truly no way to build up your karma coins! Besides, why wish for someone to have bad luck when you can’t be there to even reap the possible benefits?

Anyway, here is the setlist from Tinley Park, Illinois on8-9-13. Can’t wait to see ‘s the next one…

Queen of California
Lay Down Sally
I Don’t Trust Myself
Waiting on the World to Change
Who Says
Something Like Olivia
If I Ever Get Around to Living
Your Body is a Wonderland
Free Falling
Gravity
Wildfire
They Call Me the Breeze
Born and Raised
Wheel
Paper Doll
Age of Worry
Vultures
Slow Dancing in a Burning Room

2 comments on “A Face to Call Home? and setlist from Chicago 8-9-13

  • I found your blog while searching for what the hell happened to ‘A Face to Call Home’. I honestly hope it comes back to the setlist. It’s such a beautiful song with amazing and meaningful lyrics. I loved your blog!

    • Thank you so much! We saw him 8 times & I think he played it 3-4 times. It is a nice song. I wish he’d change up his set list more. We never heard “whiskey, whiskey, whiskey”, or “shadow days”, or “Walt Grace”. Plus the older songs were always the same. His lack of interaction with the crowd was disappointing, but musically he was amazing! Are you going to see him? He’s definitely worth it & phillip Phillips was terrific, much better than I ever expected!

  • Leave a Reply

